Alien Vs Predator... A name I know too well.The game comes out in a few weeks, as you probably know due to the title of the forum post. I have been excited about this game since it was originally anounced, but now as it draws closer, I'm starting to see fault after fault with the game (This isnt a Hate post - Keep reading :D)... First off, The graphics seem quite simple, the lighting looks good, but the textures look quite simple, and the predator model doesn't look too good, but I can say that the marine and alien both look very good.Another bad point I couldn't help but notice is that the gameplay looks quite... Boring... The predator gameplay footage from E3 2009, but also more modern footage looks like a bit of a bore - As you cannot leap onto a random place, it is only set places, this is only a minor fault, I know, but there is more. Such as the fact you cant string together combos, instead its only one hit per bumper press, and you can't press the buttons that fast, it's only 1 strike per 0.5/1 for a second(I'm not too sure, but I know for a fact it is one) so it looks like a l4d2 melee weapon (This isnt a fault with l4d2, as this was meant to happen, and provided needed tension) but with the predator, you should feel power versing the aliens, and I know the predator isn't as fast as some of the aliens, but still... And finally... The gameplay seems quite... Repettitive... Now I'm waiting for the demo before buying it.As I said before, it is not a hate post. Alien Vs Predator may be a franchise depending how well the game sells (just a rumor that I read in about 3 different magazines, and I mean the game), but also, the alien gameplay and the multiplayer looks fantastic, it's just the singleplayer... But anyway, the alien will be fantastic to play, but now I have three questions for you guys...
What are your views on Alien Vs PredatorWhat do you guys think on Alien Vs Predator's Single Player?
Secondly, What do you think on the multiplayer (Including the new ''Survival mode'' and ''Infection'' etc?And finally, Do you think that our expectations become to high when the game is hyped up too much, or you hype it up yourself, and then ruins the game slightly?Thanks for reading, and if you answer, thankyou for your answer :)Alien Vs Predator - And Game Expectation ...
I will wait and try the demo before i pass judgementAlien Vs Predator - And Game Expectation ...
I do think this game is riding a wave of unjustified hype to a degree. The first indication I got that it may wind up being underwhelming was when I read the single player campaign was 3 seperate 4 hour campaigns - which to me is not enough time with any of the three (especially disappointed that I can't play a longer single player as a marine trying to survive) and seems like little more than a warm up for the mp online. I absolutely love the first and second Alien movies, like the first Predator movie but that's pretty much it - the AVP movies were total crap to me. I have a feeling the game may be an unsatisying jumble, not enough of any one thing to be a great game. I am definitely curious to try the multiplayer but I am still on the fence as to whether I will want to spend the money on it.
AvP and AvP2 as released on the PC a few years back were both fantastic. AvP was a bit more intense in my opinion, but AvP2 added a better story and polish to the formula. Multiplayer was a blast. I'd like to think this new one can be great if they keep it in the same vein as the previous entries in the series. I'm trying to get too hyped up about it though. We'll see when the demo comes out.
I was really hyped at first...
But after seeing gameplay I'm kinda disappointed. The predator looks really under thought out. The alien looks pretty cool, though. I just wish I could see the aliends hands when they're moving. It makes me feel like there's nothing running. The marine campaign looks pretty awesome, though. :D
But yeah, the predator looks barely exciting at all.
[QUOTE=''albatrossdrums'']I do think this game is riding a wave of unjustified hype to a degree. The first indication I got that it may wind up being underwhelming was when I read the single player campaign was 3 seperate 4 hour campaigns - which to me is not enough time with any of the three (especially disappointed that I can't play a longer single player as a marine trying to survive) and seems like little more than a warm up for the mp online. I absolutely love the first and second Alien movies, like the first Predator movie but that's pretty much it - the AVP movies were total crap to me. I have a feeling the game may be an unsatisying jumble, not enough of any one thing to be a great game. I am definitely curious to try the multiplayer but I am still on the fence as to whether I will want to spend the money on it.[/QUOTE]
3 Seperate four hour campaigns with 3 different gameplay types?... There have been few games that have attempted this, as it normally ends up in each gameplay type being mediocre... Great... Thanks for posting though :) And thanks to Colin as well :)...
I expect the Predator gameplay to be quite mediocre, The Marine gameplay isn't going to be very good, as I have seen for a fact that it is not going to have much tension since there is a warning before big waves, such as an alarm going off or some sort of thing, so instead of turning around occasionly and seeing nothing, then all of a sudden *BOOM* there all there... But they have made it more ''User Friendly'' by having alarms and etc telling you when they are coming. And finally, I can't see the alien campaign be fun, as you get a few scripted reactions, but online you hear people shout stuff like ''HOLY FUDGING GOD, I JUST FUDGED IN MY PANTS!''.
So, 4 hours of mediocre gameplay, times by 3, for 12 hours :O, is it really worth some achievements... But I think that the multiplayer will be fantastic
im definitely excited but of course i always start to have doubts about a game when it gets closer to release, but im goin to try the demo tmr c for myself b4 i decide whether or not i want to buy it
[QUOTE=''LightColor'']im definitely excited but of course i always start to have doubts about a game when it gets closer to release, but im goin to try the demo tmr c for myself b4 i decide whether or not i want to buy it[/QUOTE]
The demos not out yet
[QUOTE=''NeverTheSame''][QUOTE=''LightColor'']im definitely excited but of course i always start to have doubts about a game when it gets closer to release, but im goin to try the demo tmr c for myself b4 i decide whether or not i want to buy it[/QUOTE] The demos not out yet[/QUOTE]
http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/01/11/aliens-vs-predator-demo-release-confirmed-for-ps3-xbox-360/
Thats just to prove there is one :)
man i thought i said tmr? tmr= tomorrow? u no that right? if u didn't u do now just a lil short form for the internet
[QUOTE=''NeverTheSame''][QUOTE=''NeverTheSame''][QUOTE=''LightColor'']im definitely excited but of course i always start to have doubts about a game when it gets closer to release, but im goin to try the demo tmr c for myself b4 i decide whether or not i want to buy it[/QUOTE] The demos not out yet[/QUOTE] http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/01/11/aliens-vs-predator-demo-release-confirmed-for-ps3-xbox-360/ Thats just to prove there is one :)[/QUOTE] OH **** IT IS OUT TOMORROW :O!!!
I think it looks pretty good and I have been waiting for it since august (I used to play the 1999 pc version and I loved it it was really scary)I agree with you on the predator models looking alittle bleak and I also agree about the textures, the cliffs dont have enough ledges and what not to jump off of.I disagree with you on the predator jumping because you can jump anywhere that is within range of your reticle you just have to aim you jumps ( this COULD be a major flaw though because while your wasting your time trying to jump to the right spot a horde of aliens could be tearing your backside to shreads with those long sharp tails haha ;)I also disagree with your remark about the sp campaign because we have only seen glimpses of the first levels which generally are easy and are used to get the gamer familiar with the controls.And as for the predator attacks being slowed down I think that it is a bit necesarry because the aliens melee is its only weapon so if a predator was just as dangerous in melee combat then the alien would be useless.And as for the multiplayer I could not be more excited because my favorite two game modes from Halo and Gears of war 2 have been incooperated into this game (infestation and survival mode).
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment