Friday, April 9, 2010

Am I the only person on the planet who e ...

I had no real issues with the mako sequences in mass effect. sure, navigating through terrain could be a little annoying but I honestly enjoyed fighting bad guys with it. dodging missiles with the mako's boost power was pretty entertaining and i loved blowing infantry into oblivion with my cannon. Anyone feel the same?Am I the only person on the planet who e ...
Well i wouldn't go as far as saying i enjoyed it. But i didn't hate it either. It was just something ..... that was there really. Am I the only person on the planet who e ...
It's something I wish they would have improved instead of taking out
I liked it, although I see why people don't and why Bioware didn't include it in ME2. I was hoping for some type of Asteroid type mini game using the Normandy, ME3 should have more mini games.
I thought it was pretty fun.
Well given the choice of Mako'ing around or scanning, I take Mako...



I didn't think the Mako needed yanking out, just the vertical aiming to be refined.
i enjoyed the mako but i think the problem was in how dull the non main story worlds were to explore in the mako.

would be fun going through a jungle in it, or maybe avoiding lava rivers in it
I like the Mako scenes better than the freaking Plane Harvesting scenes in ME2!
while i didn't exactly ''enjoy'' them, just because a number of planets had super steep mountains that where almost impossible to get over.. but i did kinda miss not having any vehicles in ME2...
The Mako wasn't terrible, but not particularly good either.I can see why Bioware decided to drop it altogether for Mass Effect 2 in order to have better side missions with great looking worlds, albeit somewhat linear.
[QUOTE=''Doomtime'']It's something I wish they would have improved instead of taking out [/QUOTE]I think thats the general feeling. Seems as if their way of 'fixing' the problem was to just completely remove that whole aspect of the game completely.Its almost a bit lazy, even though it could well have been a necessary compromise so they could spend time and resources improving all the other aspects of the game. Ya cant always get *everything* ya want, you know?
I was on the fence with it. they were alright (and made sense in the conext, especially the Noveria sequence), but it definetly fell flat alot. they should bring it back in ME3, and use the argo sequence from ''Star Trek Nemesis'' as inspiration for what to do with it (and fix the handling of the damn thing, it would just glitch-stop so much for me).I do like the smaller, on foot more unique side-missions of ME2 more.
I didn't hate the Mako parts on Uncharted world, like TC said, navigation could be a pain, especially on really mountainous worlds, with steep angles. But the pacing could have been better on the uncharted worlds by having you not spend all your time figuring out, which path will get the Mako over a mountain. I did however love using the Mako on story missions, like climbing the moutain to Peak 15 or that last run on illos, those were fun. If they could have made the side missions like those, I think people would have welcomed the return of the Mako. But I can understand why they took it out, sometimes you have to sacrifice the finger to save the hand and they wanted all parts of the game praised. It was viewed as unecessary fat, so they cut it. Maybe for ME3, they will find that middle ground.
[QUOTE=''Sepewrath'']But I can understand why they took it out, sometimes you have to sacrifice the finger to save the hand and they wanted all parts of the game praised. [/QUOTE]



the problem is they took off the finger and replaced it with an uglier finger... Planet scanning sucks. Sure the mako wasn't great and a lot of people had a hard time going up mountains with it, but I would take that any day over the scanning from ME2.

I, like you, hope in ME3 they finally figure out what they are doing with the whole exploration parts. Maybe they can take an example from Star Control 2 that came out in 1992. That had almost too much exploring, but they got mineral harvesting right (you only need to do it when you are running low or need some for upgrades), scanning was quick, the harvesting mini-game was actually fun, and the whole mode upgrades and the like to flesh out the experience of exploration.



Who knows, maybe 20 years we will finally come full circle and have an awesome space exploration game again.
I actually thought the Mako was great and miss it.
nah, i got tired of em, they seemed very tedious and the Mako was a pain of a thing to drive
I liked it. Just thought the places you went could've used some work.
I prefer scanning. Don't have to grind to collect minerals. Just get the amount you need to upgrade. Plus they give certain amount of minerals when you play +New Game.
[QUOTE=''istreakforfood'']I prefer scanning. Don't have to grind to collect minerals. Just get the amount you need to upgrade. Plus they give certain amount of minerals when you play +New Game.[/QUOTE]



I prefer scanning for resources but I wouldn't mind driving around during missions.

No comments:

Post a Comment